6 album releases to look forward to in Summer 2017

There are plenty of exciting albums being released this summer as we don our festival gear, jet-set to warmer climates and get out in the garden with a Pimms and a barbecue, here are some of the albums that might make your summer 2017 soundtrack.

Phoenix – Ti Amo

Phoenix’s 6th album, Ti Amo, will be released on June 9, 2017 and in typical Phoenix fashion, our first indication is that it’s an upbeat, joyful album carrying on from much of their earlier work. They have become synonymous with synth-indie which is a difficult genre to write sad music to even though the band cited difficult times writing the album amidst such turbulent world events including the Paris terror attacks and the refugee crisis. Perhaps, Ti Amo, meaning “I love you’ in Italian is a response of togetherness in the face of tragedy.

HAIM – Something To Tell You

HAIM are about to embark on releasing their difficult second album after the mind-blowing success of Days Are Gone, their debut album which took the music industry by storm. The hugely talented sisters are releasing their new album on July 7, 2017, and we hope their second album doesn’t disappoint. They have so far released two singles from the album, Want You Back and Right Now with the former being much more classic-HAIM than the latter which is somewhat different and possibly a failed experiment, depending on how you look at it.

Lucy Rose – Something’s Changing

Lucy Rose returns with her new album which she wrote whilst travelling across South and Central America. The album is due to be released on 14 July, 2017, and is due to be the soundtrack for every chilled out campfire that happens this summer. Lucy also made a documentary on her travels whilst writing this album which will also be released soon. Expect more stunning vocals, calming instrumentals and powerful melodies from her new release.

Com Truise – Iteration

The master of chillwave, Com Truise, is back with his first album of new material since 2011. Com Truise aka Seth Haley stated that the album will be made up of “neon-streaked melodies, big drums, robotic grooves and bleary nostalgia”. The album will be released on June 16, 2017, and will likely dominate the playlists of every synth lover this summer.

Fleet Foxes – Crack up

Fleet Foxes are back after a short hiatus with their new album due on June 16, 2017. The indie-folk band, notable for their vocal harmonies and country guitar style shot to prominence in 2008 with their critically acclaimed debut album, Fleet Foxes. Crack Up will be the band’s third album and will continue on where the second album left off as the last notes of “Grown Ocean” will be the beginning notes of the first track on Crack Up.

Alt J – Relaxer

Having already teased us with a couple of early singles (3WW and In Cold Blood), Alt J are coming back with a bang this summer. Their new album, Relaxer, retains the psychedelic vibes, the down-beat tones and the folky duets but incorporates a few new experiments to their sound. In Cold Blood featured singing in binary code and there’s sure to be many more bizarre and delightful surprises from the band with their new album as they set to take on the festival circuit this summer.

Tune in each day for daily new music recommendations. Listen to great songs, read about the artist and read exclusive music features. Listen with Zerbitt.


Waxahatchee release new single ‘Never Been Wrong’

‘Never Been Wrong’ is lyrically superb and reflective Waxahatchee are an Alabama-based indie band fronted by Katie Crutchfield who created the project in 2010 and put together the rest of the band to help her ...
Read More
Primavera Sound 2017

Top 5 songs from Primavera Sound 2017

Every June, half of East London descends onto Barcelona and gravitates towards an expanse of concrete on the northern outskirts of the city. There they remain for the next three days, sampling some of the ...
Read More
Courts band

Hip-hop funk-indie band Courts release awesome new track

Courts are a unique, exciting and fresh Indie-funk rap band, Courts have released a wonderfully unique and vibrant new single, True Say. They’re being described as “funk-grime”, indie and hip hop all in one breath ...
Read More
Melt Band

Exquisite chilled Soul R&B from brand new band, Melt

Melt storm on to the scene with superb new single New York based soul band, Melt, have released a gem of a debut single with their song, Sour Candy. The band appear to have come ...
Read More
The Hunna

The Hunna release video for their new single Never Enough

Never Enough is raw passionate rock at its finest Hertfordshire based band The Hunna released their debut album, 100, last August which debuted at number 3 in the UK indie chart. Inspired by bands such ...
Read More
Mike Skinner

What is Mike Skinner up to? The Darker The Shadow The Brighter The Light

Mike Skinner releases songs under new name After a hugely successful career as The Streets, becoming one of the UK’s most influential and original hip hop stars, Mike Skinner has taken a few different turns ...
Read More

Hatchie releases debut single and it is superb

Hatchie has only one song in her entire back catalogue and it is making waves Harriette Pibeam AKA Hatchie is a singer from Brisbane, Australia who has a total of one track in her entire ...
Read More

New Kygo featuring Ellie Goulding plus a new track from Kele of Bloc Party

First Time – Kygo & Ellie Goulding The tropical house extraordinaire is back and this time he’s collaborated with Ellie Goulding who is no stranger to synthy collaborations, having previously sung with the likes of ...
Read More
Alt J

BREAKING: Alt J release new album Relaxer | Listen here.

Relaxer is as unique as it is spontaneous Alt J have released their long awaited third album, Relaxer, which is now available to stream on Spotify.  The album includes a cover of House of The Rising Sun as well ...
Read More
Gothic Tropic

Gothic Tropic release awesome new 360 music video

Don’t Give Me Up – Gothic Tropic Cecilla Dela Peruti (AKA Gothic Tropic) has released this awesome 360 music video to accompany her new single, Don’t Give Me Up. The song is taken from her new ...
Read More

Share with your friends

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.